Follow us on Twitter

Award Recipients

Ted Thompson, MD Selected as the 2009 MN-AAP Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Ted Thompson, MD was awarded the 2009 Distinguished Service Award by the Minnesota Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics at its annual meeting on June 11, 2009.

This award recognizes a Minnesota pediatrician who is nominated by a member and meets three important criteria: 1) excellence in clinical areas; 2) work in advocacy for children; and 3) involvement in special projects or activities that contribute to the improvement of child health care.

This recognition of a lifetime of achievement in pediatrics was attested to by many of the attendees at the annual meeting who had trained under him over the years.

Dr. Thompson is a professor in the Division of Neonatology at the University of Minnesota. He earned his MD from the University of Pennsylvania and served his internship, residency and chief residency at the University of Minnesota Hospital, where he also did his neonatology fellowship.

In addition to attending on the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Dr. Thompson was until recently the Associate Chief of Pediatric Services and is now Associate Head for Education and Community Programs for the Department of Pediatrics, Medical Director of Outreach and Secretary for UM Physicians and Director of Clinical Education for the Medical School. He chairs and/or serves on numerous committees. Dr. Thompson has published extensively.

Congratulations on your many accomplishments and thank you for your leadership!


<< Back to Award Recipients